Fragmented Dreams

I had dreams.

When I was younger, I wanted to be a doctor like my dad. I was going to be cardiologist or a neurosurgeon. I was going to be rich and successful. And I was going to save people.

And then, I woke up.

And I realized that I hated the sight and smell of blood. That I would have to study for a long time before I could be a cardiologist or a neurosurgeon. That I would have to spend the rest of my life in a hospital so I could be rich and successful. That people die on the operating table all the time. That I would not only be responsible for life, but also for death.

So, I slept again, and my dream changed.

Edit: P.S. More sales from Getty Images this month, including one to Dean Markley, a US-based company that sells guitar strings, and another to a Japanese multi-media network. I think I’ll write a post next week about stock photography, which, based on the photos I’ve sold so far, is not really so much about being artsy. More to come.


~ by Sheila on March 20, 2010.

4 Responses to “Fragmented Dreams”

  1. i am really scared of doctors and hospitals…scares the hell out of me.
    glad on your sales 🙂
    have a good weekend

  2. Beautiful composition and bokeh – a very striking shot.

  3. believe it or not, i always thought it would be cool to be a photojournalist or a nature photographer, you know, the ones that gets shots of wild animals in africa, or run around the streets of new york. i think thats because my parents always had national geographic magazines in the house and those decade photobooks that show the most intriguing news photos from the past 10 years. it seemed like such a “dream”. like…who do i think i am that i could be a photographer, that’s crazy!

    great news with Getty images. i would love to hear more about it.

Leave a Reply

 
