There is a third dimension to traveling, the longing for what is beyond.

I sometimes wish I were somewhere else, instead of typing in my bedroom, with the air-con in full blast, waiting for a storyboard that is long overdue.

In my make-believe world, I would be…

in Paris, sipping tea and eating macarons at Laduree while I watch the world go by;

in Barcelona, trying to capture what Woody Allen saw in his film Vicky Cristina Barcelona;

in the little Greek islands of Skopelos and Skiathos, or maybe Santorini, basking in the warmth of their magnificent sunset and getting lost in the blueness of the sea.

Alas, the real world beckons, and I am brought back with a thud.

And I am reminded to finish our summer travel plans before the month ends. There are tickets to be purchased and rooms to be booked. Sadly, we won’t be going to any of my dream spots, but we might end up sipping tea, while eating chocolates under cherry blossom trees.

About this photo: It’s my first attempt, but I think I am falling in love with light painting. I was hoping for an Indiana Jones-y feel for this shot, and I think that technique really helped a lot. My only concern really was finding the right spots to put accents on without overexposing them. Also, just so you know, I used a Maglite (flashlight) so I could control the size of the light beam.

Edit: This is how it looked before I turned off the lights, and adjusted the aperture. I took this shot to check my arrangement and composition before I started light painting.

~ by Sheila on March 4, 2010.

10 Responses to “There is a third dimension to traveling, the longing for what is beyond.”

  1. Wow, that is so neat. Did you do any additional processing to get the papers to look old?

    • Thanks, Ed. Yes, I did add an old paper texture (soft light blend mode) to give it an old, vintage feel.

  2. GREAT!!!

  3. i like your holiday plans…
    i too have my mini maglite, but am struglging to contorl it

    • prashant, are we talking about the same maglite? as in the really small and slim flashlight? i can’t imagine anyone having a problem with it. isn’t it just twist and turn?

  4. my bad…i meant controlling the intensity of the light

    • hmmm… i’m sorry but i still don’t understand. i think the “intensity” is pretty standard all throughout, as in most flashlights. if you’re talking about the size of the halo/beam, it’s really just twist and turn.

      for a moment there, i thought you were talking about nikon’s speedlight (flash).

  5. management of amazing imagination and taste

  6. Beautiful shot and neat technique.

Leave a Reply

 
