Dream Home

When I was about six or seven, I dreamed of living in a big house near the beach, surrounded by trees, with a flower and vegetable garden, and a beautiful kitchen. If you’ve seen Meryl Streep’s house in That’s Complicated, then you know exactly what I’m talking about. (If not, check this out.)

Today, I live in a condo, in one of the busiest parts of the city, with a medium-sized garden that I share with my neighbors, and a kitchen that’s just big enough for three.

I’m not complaining though because we chose to live here. We wanted a place that’s very secure, has well-maintained facilities and an efficient pest-control system. And we got all of those.

Still, we dream of living in the suburbs someday, surrounded by trees and with our very own garden. The kitchen won’t probably be as big as Meryl Streep’s because it’s difficult to maintain one once you’re old and grey. And it probably won’t be near the beach because I have this inane fear of tsunamis.

But it would still be the house of my dreams because, in my head, I see R and I sitting on the porch, drinking tea and watching the sunset together, while we wait for Y to come.

You see, “I still fly a lot in my dreams, but I try to stay close to the ground. At my age, a fall can be pretty serious.” (That one’s a quote from Story People.)

~ by Sheila on March 3, 2010.

2 Responses to “Dream Home”

  1. I’m getting addicted to your blog. You always have such nice pictures and thoughts to go with them.
    For the record, I love Meryl Streep’s house in “That’s complicated!” 🙂

    • thanks, sara!
      i suppose i shouldn’t have been surprised since the movie’s director also did “something’s gotta give” – i loved diane keaton’s house there!
      and you got to love the bakeshop in that’s complicated – what a dream!

Leave a Reply

 
