Not so Calvin-like today

“It seems like once people grow up, they have no idea what’s cool.” – Calvin and Hobbes

My daughter grew up reading Calvin and Hobbes. It’s probably why her sense of humor is a little weird, and her logic and reasoning skills are somewhat crazy. She’s smart and funny and I see so much of Calvin in her, especially when she’s in one of her let’s-drive-mom-insane moods.

Not today, though. She was pretty excited to go to school because it’s class picture day. I caught her practicing different smiles in front of the mirror last night. And this morning, she even asked me to blow dry her hair. When she was ready to go, I asked, “Can I take a quick picture before you leave?” She said, “Okay, but just a few. I don’t want to be late.” So, I took three quick shots. Then, she was off, almost forgetting to kiss me goodbye. Sniff. Who are you and what have you done with my Calvin?!

On another note, I’ll let you in on a secret, you know that damask wall in the background? That’s not real. It was all done in Photoshop. I discovered it by accident, and was surprised that it’s actually pretty simple to do. Trust me, I’m a Photoshop noob, so when I say it’s easy, it really is. Let me know if you want me to do a step-by-step tutorial, and I’ll post it here tomorrow.

~ by Sheila on February 17, 2010.

2 Responses to “Not so Calvin-like today”

  1. Love the B&W, Such a stylish blog!!

  2. i have a few quick minutes to catch up, but will have to read more tonight. love this! yes, i want to know the photoshop secret, oh please tell!

Leave a Reply

 
