31/365: Labels

“My grandma used to plant tomato seedlings in tin cans from tomato sauce and puree and crushed tomatoes she got from the Italian restaurant by her house, but she always soaked the labels off first. I don’t want them to be anxious about the future, she said. It’s not healthy.” – Story People

I showed this quote to my daughter today, in the hope that she doesn’t grow up caring too much about what other people think. She’s at that stage where she’s trying to figure out who she is; and whether she likes it or not, she’ll be forced to deal with labels and categories along the way. I have faith in her though. I just hope she believes in herself as much as I do.

Now, about this photo…

Here’s my latest obsession — scarves! This one’s  a Christmas gift from Y. Thank you, sweetheart.

~ by Sheila on February 1, 2010.

3 Responses to “31/365: Labels”

  1. people label you with their perception and it becomes all the more important to have faith in yourself

  2. Test, my last two comments has not come up.

    • Hi! Thanks for the comments. They seem to have gone straight to “spam”, but they should be up now. Thanks for visiting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
