27/365: Beauty and the BEST

My project with a local TV network has kept me busy these days. It’s not really physically demanding, but it does need a lot of creative thinking. Don’t get me wrong, I am enjoying it, except that it eats up the time that I would rather spend taking good pictures, or at least finding out ways on how to take good ones. What was it that Richard Avedon said? “If a day goes by without my doing something related to photography, it’s as though I’ve neglected something essential to my existence, as though I had forgotten to wake up.” Well, these days, I think I’m only half-awake.

Still, there are lull days, mostly because I procrastinate (ha ha), like today. I was supposed to look at some storyboards again, but I didn’t want to spend the afternoon in front of the computer. Besides, these gerberas were just begging to be shot. The light was perfect near the window where they were, so all I really had to do was click…

and click…

and click.

And now, for the BEST part…

I have a new camera! I’ve been dying to mention my plan to upgrade but I didn’t want to say anything until I’ve actually done it. Well, this afternoon, my order finally came. Here are the first two shots from my new toy. The first one is SOOC; the second, with minor adjustments in color. Nope, I won’t tell you what it is… yet. Ha ha.

~ by Sheila on January 27, 2010.

4 Responses to “27/365: Beauty and the BEST”

  1. great collection girl …
    i would die to know about how to make such a background like this one ? … i do have a short period of experince regarding the light ditribution (softbox & umbrella) , what did you use here ?

    thanks

    keep the good job coming

    Abdullah
    Saudi Arabia

    • Thanks, Abdullah.

      This is actually just natural afternoon light coming in from the window. It’s slightly diffused because of the sheer white curtain. You might want to check my EXIF on Flickr so you can see my metadata. I think I upped my exposure compensation to +.03 or +.07 (I shoot in Aperture mode, mostly) and I shot wide open using the Nikkor 105mm f/2.8. Hope this helps. 🙂

  2. is your new camera D700? i guess i have been seeing this in your flickr tags. didn’t click me that its your new buy. many congratz!

Leave a Reply

 
