20/365: Sweet Lovin’

One of the more notable blog entries that I came across today was written by celebrated photographer Rodney Smith. He says,

“… each person’s photograph is unique. It is your take on the world, and is special only to you. This gift is not something to be taken lightly or ignored. It is why I know more about you when I look at your pictures than I know about the subject. I can look deep into your being, know your vulnerabilities, whether you wish to acknowledge them or not. I can feel your perspective, your orientation, and your feelings. Isn’t it funny how life sometimes feels backwards? I look at your pictures and I see you in them, with a greater clarity than I see your subject.”

When you look at this photo, what do you see? I hope you see someone who is absolutely, positively in love. A hopeless romantic. A wife who can’t sleep without her husband by her side. A middle-age woman who still gets giddy when her husband looks at her a certain way. A woman who thinks even the cheesiest cookies or quotes about love are special because she’s sharing them with the person she loves. I hope you see past the cookies, and see me.

“I read once that the ancient Egyptians had fifty words for sand & the Eskimos had a hundred words for snow. I wish I had a thousand words for love, but all that comes to mind is the way you move against me while you sleep, and there are no words for that.” — Story People

~ by Sheila on January 20, 2010.

2 Responses to “20/365: Sweet Lovin’”

  1. wow! beautifully written! gorgeous pictures (of course), love that you photographed all the curly ribbon in the first shot. R’s a lucky man! (I bet he knows it too.) Love the Rodney Smith quote.

  2. a nice peek to your thoughts Sheila

Leave a Reply

 
