19/365: Bug-Eyed

“We delight in the beauty of the butterfly, but rarely admit the changes it has gone through to achieve that beauty.” – Maya Angelou

I have so much respect for people who specialize in insect macro photography. I think it takes a lot of skill and patience to make these little buggers look cute. Truth be told, I find most of them creepy, and magnifying their eyes and hair don’t help at all. This is as close as I would ever get to photographing insects, I think.

I actually took a lot of shots – this butterfly just wouldn’t leave! In the end though, I decided to post this one because of the way the wings are angled perfectly to form a straight line.

~ by Sheila on January 19, 2010.

2 Responses to “19/365: Bug-Eyed”

  1. beautiful! i’ve never been able to catch one. I agree the close ups, though very interesting, kind of creep me out. it’s definitely the hair!

  2. he is the wing commander. i get goosebumps all over maing an attempt to insect photography. however, yet to get a good butterfly shot. this is good and ready to take off….

Leave a Reply

 
