14/365 and 15/365: Something Late

Actually, so very late… two days late, to be precise. I had a very busy Thursday, with one meeting after another and a late dinner with my husband’s family. I was so tired that I literally fell asleep no more than 30 minutes after we got home.

It was interesting though because I think it was then that I realized how much I look at photography as my “happy place”. I was in the middle of one of those meetings and I found myself drifting and imagining being outdoors and taking photos. I couldn’t wait for my last meeting to end, but when it finally did, it was already too dark.

I just can’t imagine myself being stuck in an office for nine or ten hours everyday, like I used to. It’s great that my project now doesn’t really require me to stay in an office, and for that, I am very thankful. R, on the other hand, has to go to work every single day, although I know he sometimes wishes he doesn’t have to. He does have his wedding photography business on the side, which, sadly, means less time with us. I don’t complain though because I know that’s his “happy place”, too.

And speaking of happy, thank you, Ed and Nancy, for the encouraging words on my last post. J, a friend from work, read my blog entry, too and reminded me that we can’t always have perfect kids. I know, of course, that Y isn’t perfect, and I don’t expect her to be. I know she’ll make mistakes, but I still pray she doesn’t and end up getting hurt or hurting someone else. In the end, what I really want is for her to live a Christian life, and keep to heart the values we continue to teach her.

I suppose I also get hurt easily because Y and I are really close. Too close, I think, that sometimes I forget that she is still a kid.

Edit: Y’s portrait was shot using an SB600 camera right. I overexposed the right part of her face on purpose to give it a more dramatic feel. However, the more I look at it now, the less I like it. Hmmm…

~ by Sheila on January 16, 2010.

One Response to “14/365 and 15/365: Something Late”

  1. oh my gosh, i’ve missed so much!
    I’m at the office every day and this time of year when i get home it’s dark so i can’t get outside. i’ve even resorted to driving around on my lunch hour once in a while, but there’s not much time. maybe i should work on my night shots! the camera shot is fabulous, love the depth of field. i like the portrait of Y, it’s very dramatic. i wish i could get a sharp portrait like that!

Leave a Reply

 
