13/365: Some things hurt us in ways only parents understand.

This is going to be an extremely short post because (a) I just got home an hour ago from my weekly date night with R; (b) there’s a tax-related form that I need to fill out and mail to Getty Images ASAP; and (c) sadly, Y and I had a spat…

… which is why I chose to post this photo, instead of the one I shot today.

Children don’t know how much power they have over their parents, or how easily they can hurt us without them knowing it. I sometimes wish I could enclose her in a cocoon, or be with her every second of every day. I wish she would grow up knowing how to distinguish the right from the wrong, and choosing which path is best. I wish she could always be the way she was in this photo – sweet and happy. Unfortunately, wishes don’t always come true.

~ by Sheila on January 14, 2010.

4 Responses to “13/365: Some things hurt us in ways only parents understand.”

  1. my son is turning 16 in a couple weeks and has changed so much over the last year, it’s hard to believe. another phase, another challenge, and the challenges seem to get tougher as they get older.

    love the photo, the lighting is beautiful. Love her hair cut!

    • Thank you, Nancy. I know what you mean.
      And I love that you mentioned her hair, as she has been so self-conscious about it lately. I will relay your comment to her. 🙂

  2. I’m sure you and Y will get through these TOUGH teenage years. You have a loving relationship and an open communication. Sometimes teenagers know what, but not why. But once they understand why a parent says or does something, it gets easier.

    • Thanks, Ed. She’s only really 10 but children now don’t act their age anymore. It looks like the teenage years now cover the 10-20 year old set, so we’ll have 10 more years of (hopefully less) fighting and a lot more loving.

Leave a Reply

 
