11/365: Some things are just too hard to resist…

… like glasses. I’ve always found them fascinating as photo subjects, especially when shot wide open, like this. No two glasses are ever the same, I think, as they seem to produce different swirls and shapes and depth. There’s something almost magical, almost sci-fi-ish about them that just pulls me in. Over the last couple of months, I’ve taken a number of photos like this, but this has got to be one of my favorites.

I’m feeling a bit tired today, like I’m coming down with something. It must be from the stress this one guy from work has been unknowingly giving me the last few days. I found out today that he missed several deadlines because he got mugged a few weeks (or days?) back. The thing is, while I sympathize with him, his non-performance has already affected the production of our project. So, earlier, I had to tell him that I desperately needed his output today, without sounding like a cold-hearted b@$ch. Well, it’s been a couple of hours, and so far, I’ve gotten zero emails from him. Sigh. I need an Advil, or something to fill these glasses.

~ by Sheila on January 11, 2010.

4 Responses to “11/365: Some things are just too hard to resist…”

  1. my jaw dropped wen i saw this one on flickr. it looks magnificent in black and white. your images of glasses are always amazing. i tried it myself a few times (thanks to you & R) but i need practice in composition, that’s my goal for 2010. hope work gets better for you. i’m wondering if you took the advil or filled the glasses! 🙂

    • hahaha! the advil worked… too well, i think. slept way too early to have those glasses filled.
      thanks, nancy. 🙂

  2. is it that when down w/ stress, you take these awesome shots 😉
    looking @ your flickr stream one can indeed tell your thing with the glasses.

  3. i completely agree with you about the obsession of shooting glasses. I am currently obsessed with glasses and table top photos. And, this photo is quite lovely.

    http://tramirezphotography.com

Leave a Reply

 
