6/365: Something Scary

The other day, Y woke up with a very bad headache. She said she had trouble sleeping the night before because she’s been thinking about a conversion we had about a former colleague who died in his sleep a few years back. I told her that she had nothing to be scared about, that my colleague had been drinking too much so his liver failed. That night, I waited till she was asleep before I finally settled in.

Y doesn’t usually scare easily, well, at least not as much as I do. When I was about 6 or 7, I remember watching this local film about a heroine who battles a tikbalang, a creature of Philippine folklore who is half-man, half-horse (but not the way centaurs are) and an aswang, a bloodsucking vampire of sorts. I couldn’t sleep for several nights after that as I kept imagining the aswang flapping her wings outside my window or the tikbalang peering in. And then there was the time when Japanese horror movies were all the rage. I summoned the courage to watch The Ring and The Grudge. HUGE MISTAKE. Until now, I tend to feel a little uncomfortable each time I see and hear white noise on TV, and sometimes, when I’m in the shower, I think about that shampoo scene from The Grudge. (Funny, it all seems so silly now that I’m writing it down.)

My “scaredycat-ness” is also one the reasons why I’m not so fond of old houses. A few years back, we spent two nights in a heritage house-turned-hotel in Vigan and I felt so weird the entire time we were there. So, it comes as no surprise that I didn’t really feel all that happy about visiting this old house in Baguio. (Baguio has so many horror tales and “haunted” houses. Seriously.) It didn’t help that my husband kept teasing me about “the other person” in this shot. Grrr.

I think I’m keeping this shot though precisely because it looks creepy. The hook, all those shadows and that sunset light in the background — they all make sense to me. Plus, this proves that I am fearless now. Ha! Well, I only actually stayed inside for a minute or two, so okay, maybe not entirely fearless just yet.

~ by Sheila on January 6, 2010.

6 Responses to “6/365: Something Scary”

  1. lol Sheila.
    do not we all have our scared tales. when i was in junior school, whilst having a shower i always kept my feet wide thinking if the floor breaks i can stand my ground on one feet…it took me years to get over that…
    i loved reading this piece

  2. when i first saw the photo on flickr, i didn’t think of it as scary, but when i read your entry i scrolled back up to the photo and it hit me. it’s that hook, and those shadows. it really does portray “creepiness”. i still have my scardeycat moments, i hate walking the dog late at night after watching CSI! the show itself doesn’t scare me until i get out in the dark by myself!

  3. I think if the photo was in B/W it might be scary – it is just that the light is so happy and sunny seeming that the hook doesn’t read sinister to me at all. I don’t watch scary movies and my kids can’t even make it through “normal” movies (think Disney – Nemo’s sibs all getting gobbled up in first few minutes etc). Your post made me think back to a story from a friend – they were camping and a few sites over a couple of twin girls woke up to find their mom in the tent next to them dead. I made sure my kids never heard that story. Can you imagine? Hope your daughter was able to let it go.

    • that’s horrible!

      thanks, bev. she’s over it now, although she does remind us to slow down whenever we drink anything alcoholic.

      and also, i have a friend whose 5 year old son got traumatized after watching nemo on their big flat screen at home. come to think of it, it IS quite scary for a child to see all those sharks eating the babies.

Leave a Reply

 
