5/365: Of Shoes and Shadows

If there’s one thing my daughter loves as much as her books, it’s shoes. She probably has more footwear than R or me, combined. We often tease her that it’s because she shares the same birthday as Imelda Marcos, the former Philippine first lady who owned about 3,000 pairs. She would laugh each time, although her imaginative mind was probably whirling and smiling at the thought of owning so many shoes.

One day, when my husband were on one of our rare daytime dates, we saw this pair of purple suede boots. It was a tad too big for Y, but we bought them anyway because we knew she would love them. It was the only pair she wore during the holidays and even on our trip. She adored them that much. I knew I had to take a photo of her shoes at some point.

An opportunity came one afternoon during our Baguio sojourn. The sun was casting shadows on the balcony of an old house we visited inside Camp John Hay.  The light was perfect! So, off I clicked, just a few though because my model wouldn’t stand still. She kept tracing the shadow lines, which she found oddly fascinating.

Afterwards, I showed Y the photo and told her that years from now, she would look at this and ask herself why she ever loved these purple shoes (as we are wont to do with our old photos). She looked at me like I’ve gone crazy and said, “i will always love my purple boots because you bought them for me.” (I hope you’re reading this, future Y.)

On another note, R says he loves how this tells the story of someone’s journey to a much brighter place while overcoming obstacles along the way. It’s so like him to put a beautiful story into something so simple, which is one of the reasons why I love him.

~ by Sheila on January 5, 2010.

3 Responses to “5/365: Of Shoes and Shadows”

  1. a girl after my own heart! i buy tons of shoes. my husband recently bought a few pair of sneakers, when he went to put them in the closet he found there was no more room. he came to me and said, “when did you acquire so many shoes? there’s no room left in the closet!” great shot, great story, and i LOVE those boots! she’s got style!

    • lol! nancy, i have to confess — one of the rooms in our house has been converted into a shoe/storage room because our shoes don’t fit in a closet anymore. so, the next time your husband talks to you about shoes, you might want to mention the possibility of adding an extra room. lol!

  2. needless to say the emotional bonding of the picture w/ you.
    i like the last para though.

Leave a Reply

 
