2/365: Walking in a Daydream

I’ve always been in love with photos of trees with the sun shining in full force in the background. Having lived in the city for most of my adult life, it’s something I don’t really get to see every day. On the last day of the year however, one of my photography dreams finally came true… well, sort of.

We had just come from a day of crossing ziplines and rappelling (R and Y did both, I took photos) so we decided to just walk around and do some exploring at Historical Core, a park inside Camp John Hay. After an hour or so, my legs, obviously not used to so much walking, practically begged me to find a place to rest. I noticed a clear patch of grass at the amphitheater and decided to just sit there and wait for R, who was also taking photos with Y. I tinkered with my camera a bit, reviewing the shots I took earlier. When I looked up, I saw this. It’s a good thing I had on a Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8, a great, practical walkabout glass not to mention quite cheap. I managed to shoot a couple of frames before the sun finally disappeared from view. It felt great! What a way to end 2009!

I suppose the only downer to this whole story are those branches “covering” the house. I wanted to clone them out on Photoshop but R thinks I should leave it as it is.

Edit: My husband reminded me just now that this was the last sunset of 2009. Pretty awesome!

~ by Sheila on January 2, 2010.

2 Responses to “2/365: Walking in a Daydream”

  1. What a beautiful place! It reminds me of a story book. You have to love it when you get a shot like that when your not expecting it. Truly stunning!

Leave a Reply

 
