On Flickr: The Morning After

The Morning After, originally uploaded by Sheila_P.

We couldn’t go out of town for my birthday weekend, so my husband decided to just book us a room at one of the hotels in the city. Needless to say, we had a great time.

He also got me a Lensbaby Composer as a gift. It’s a toy of a lens that produces insane blurs for that dreamy, wistful look. From what I’ve read, it’s got a polarizing effect on people — you either love it or totally hate it. In my case, after the first few clicks, I wanted to throw it out of our 7th floor hotel room window and watch a huge truck crush it to kingdom come.

After seeing the disappointed look on my husband’s face though, I decided to give it a try the following day. I’m still not loving it, but I’m pretty sure it will be safe from trucks… at least for now. I suppose I just have to get used to the idea that:

a. It will only run full manual on my Nikon D90. The manual focusing, I can take, but what really sucks is that the metering doesn’t work so I have to rely on scientific and analytical guess work (what the ____?) to get the right exposure. It works on Aperture mode on the D300 though.

b. I will not get tack sharp images.

~ by Sheila on October 26, 2009.

2 Responses to “On Flickr: The Morning After”

  1. But I bet it’s got the creative juices flowing though right! 🙂

    Anyway, if you really decide you don’t like it, I’ll buy it off you…what’s one more lens in the collection, right 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
