12/365: Something to take my mind off things

During our last trip to the US, we bought this knitting kit for my daughter at Pottery Barn Kids, hoping to get her interested in making outfits or scarves for her American Girl dolls. Alas, it’s been two years and, apart from cutting some yarn for her art projects, the pack remains untouched. I’ve been wanting to take on this hobby for some time now, having seen some of the things my mother-in-law has done, but I just never really got around to doing it until today… well, sort of.

Being so heavily agitated again because of the guy from work I mentioned yesterday, I went to my daughter’s room, looking for a book to read, and found the kitting kit on one of her shelves. I picked up the basket, went to the balcony for some fresh air, and read the manual that came with the kit. But for the life of me, I couldn’t figure it out! So, I went back inside, got my computer and watched some instructional clips on YouTube. Still nothing. After a couple more minutes of struggling, I decided to just get my camera and shoot the blasted thing. Now, that’s more like it!

P.S. Since I started blogging regularly, I’ve often wondered why my images here on WordPress seem to be a little soft on the focus, compared to Flickr. I realize now that I need to sharpen them, specifically for this blog. In case you’re wondering, I used this tip I found on Petapixel:¬†Choose unsharp mask filter (Filter->Sharpen->Unsharp Mask) and change your settings to:

Amount: 400%
Radius: .2 pixels
Threshold: 0 levels

This works best on low-res web images.

~ by Sheila on January 12, 2010.

2 Responses to “12/365: Something to take my mind off things”

  1. i used to love and still love what my Mom knits for me. Though its been some years that I wore one. It does not get so cold here in Bangalore.

  2. i had to crack up when i read this! i started knitting about 10 months ago. however, i started with a loom kit, (those plastic circles with the pegs on them). the looms are incredibly easy to learn, i made my first hat in 3 hours. but i wanted to learn how to knit with the knitting needles, so i went out and bought those too. Couldn’t figure it out for the life of me, so I watched YouTube videos for instructions. (we must have came from the same mold!) Still couldn’t figure it out, so i packed them away and decided to stick with the camera!

    Thank you for the sharpening tip, that will help me alot. i sharpen eveything and i’ve been worried i’m overdoing it, so i will try this!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

